Keynote on Bonk’s Blog

Last week we had a speaker from the Univeristy of Illinois tell us about the accessibility of education on the web.  He actually wasn’t in the room to give the lecture and nor was I.  I don’t know what program he used but I listened through elluminate and was fascinated by his presentation.  Because there was so much information, he was not able to go through all of his slides but he did manage to give our class lots of references on the different educational sites and universities offering free lectures online.

People from all over the world can log onto live or recorded lectures that are made available through the web.  Private tutoring can be done online through the use of webcams and instant messaging.  Children from first world countries can communicate with children from 3rd world countries as computers and internet are becoming more accessible worldwide.  Unfortunately, electricity is not always available and global issues have caused limitations on natural resources.  In the meantime, people are communicating and working together to develop programs and devices to improve the lives of  others, including providing free educational resources.

Below is a keynote I put together based on the Dr. Bonk’s presentation.  I don’t like recording my voice so I thought it would be more interesting to set it to a soundtrack.  This was my first time ever using keynote and it is unfortunate that there is no easy solution to posting these presentations on the web.  I converted it to a video file so it retains the version I recorded with the soundtrack.  I actually signed up for Youtube and Slideshare just to load this presentation.  You may need to turn up the sound. I got a little carried away so the presentation is over 3 minutes:

2 Comments »

  1. Arl Said:

    Cool keynote! I like the combination of the music, images and words–and the effects between slides were way fun, especially when they visually mimicked the music. It was fun listening to music and reading. Much more engaging than just words and images and easy to sit through 3 minutes worth.

  2. Alex Said:

    Great use of images and soundtrack! I smiled. I chuckled. I loved it! This was a really engaging presentation that really encapsulated C. Bonk’s lecture.

    And I also like the automatically generated “Possibly related posts.” That adds yet another dimension to the lecture, your presentation, and it’s meaning.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment