Google Docs Presentation

I have posted my Powerpoint Presentation on slideshare.

Final Presentation 830 Google Docs

I will have the actual video tutorial on Youtube by the end of this week.  Something to keep in mind when you are creating an instructional video, similar to like Lynda.com, you want to find a good program to record your screen shots.

I used Screen Toasters, which is one of the few programs you don’t have to download onto your computer and it is free.  Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to figure out how to manage the various recording I made.  When you do a recording, you need to download and save it as a .mov file or you can lose it very easily.  I had it recording my entire screen, which became a huge file and kept crashing my computer.  I then just created a small box area to record.  It is difficult to edit directly on Screen Toaster, so  it is best to edit on a program like Adobe Premier or other movie editing software.

I discovered a valuable lesson that it takes a long time to learn editing software programs, so make sure you give yourself time to learn how to use the software before trying to put everything together.  The size of the files also matter greatly and can be very hard on your computer.  Try to send all of your “scratch” files onto an external hard drive because video files eat so much space on your computer.

As for the animation segment, I used xtranormal The free version allows you to use up to 2 characters but you can only use so many words.  If you upgrade, then you have access to more characters and longer length in recording.  You will learn that you have to play around with words since sometimes the characters speak really fast or do not pronounce certain words correctly.

When looking up animation, I came across the coolest website: www.aniboom.com

It is a community website for animators and there are lots of competitions posted on there, including video competitions for Radioheads’ latest album

Do be careful when browsing through this site because you will find yourself spending hours viewing some great animated clips.

1 Comment »

  1. Alex Said:

    Your presentation last week was well-thought out and really fun.

    Thank for the links and for the great advice! I’m really excited to learn Screen Toasters, since a free screen capturing device is exactly what I was looking for. Too bad I didn’t find it a while ago so I could have had enough time to learn it and use it for my presentation tonight.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment